Daughters of Hesperia – Necessary Words (1.112)

It was late in the evening when Molpe fetched her daughter from her quarters personally, pressing a finger to her lips and beckoning her to follow. Though confused, Thaleia readily did so, and they walked quietly to the throne room.

“Daughter, it is time we talked.” Molpe hesitated, but pressed on. “About your brother. If you wish to speak, I will listen, but we cannot continue on like this. It will do no good for anyone.”

Thaleia looked at her, but Molpe stood, waiting for her to respond, and eventually Thaleia’s eyes filled with tears.

“I do not understand why he wishes this. Why he prefers to give up his blessing, and be treated as any other, as though he were not a queen’s son.”

“I could have refused him.” Molpe paused, trying to find the right words. What she said now mattered, and how she said, too. Her daughter deserved the truth. “He does not wish to keep living as he does, and there is a bitterness to him that I do not think will ever leave him. He has his own regrets, and I do not think this situation can be resolved well, but he does have the right to give up his blessing. Had he been refused, he would have lived, true, but his mind would not have been changed. I feel responsible, Thaleia, and I wish I could go back and make better choices, but the truth of the matter is that I cannot.”

“Mother…” Thaleia looked at her, taken aback by her admission. “But…why must it be Gorgophone?”

“I do not know, on that front, beyond Gorgophone being among the choices I gave him. She would be more able to tell you than I, but…I think that perhaps you should not demand answers from her, my dove. She will tell you in her own time, I am sure, but for now, we must be gentle to her.”

“Mother…” Thaleia looked as though the tears might fall, but instead she wiped her eyes. “I know that Odysseus and I have never been close, but he is still my brother, and to lose him like this…I do not understand why it must have been Gorgophone, or why she said yes to him. Who else am I to talk to if not her? Harpe is also his sister, yes, but she is the youngest, and I cannot talk to her like that. Gorgophone is…she is supposed to be like a sister to me, and a friend, but how can I talk to her now? Who can I speak to about this?”

“You feel as though you are losing a friend, as well?” Molpe asked, gently.

“Yes! I cannot talk to her about anything any longer, not with all of this. Were it someone else, I would have gone to her to pour out my heart, but she is the reason that would be necessary.” Thaleia sighed deeply. “Mother, I know that it is all…as it should be, but I cannot be happy for her. I wanted to be, in the past, when we thought of our first children and the joy that they might bring, but now, that…all of that is ruined. I simply cannot be happy for her.”

“I see.” Molpe felt a deep sympathy for her daughter and Gorgophone both. “Perhaps you should go to the priestesses. They are who a queen turns to in times like this, and when I have struggled in the past, they have been helpful.”

“No, Mother. I do not wish for priestesses. I wish for a friend, and I feel as though my closest friend has left me.” Thaleia paused. “But…I know I may talk to you, and Aunt Anikka. Perhaps my family is what I need now.”

Molpe nodded, but she knew that family and friendship were two different things. She dearly wished for Thaleia and Gorgophone to be able to mend things between them, but in all honestly, this was one of few things that were not entirely her place to mend. She could not force this to be fixed, but must leave the matter in their hands, even if she wished to make things whole once more.

4 thoughts on “Daughters of Hesperia – Necessary Words (1.112)

  1. I just finished to binge read this story and will look forward to your updates.

    I love your style of writing and your use of uncommon words. I have learnt a lot reading your stories.

    I admire the backstories of characters and how they all interwine. You make me want to play Sims again, but I know that when I play I’m too focused on maxing my Sims needs and careers instead of enjoying the story.

    For the last few days this Amazon challenge has been my happy refuge, I have devoured chapter after chapter. Thank you for writing this.

    It must be hard for Molpe to accept her son decision especially now that she is still mourning for her mother Clodia. I just hope gorgophone has a reason that seems valid to Thaleia otherwise their future relationship of heiress/guard is going to be more challenging.

    And I also hope the baby is a girl. It would be too bitter if it was as boy.

    1. This comment really made my day, thank you! I try really hard to make the story work, and to see you appreciate it this much really does make the effort feel very worth it. I’m currently taking a tiny break while I work out the next bit of the story, but don’t worry – the chapters will be returning very soon! Thank you so much for all your kind words.

Leave a comment