Eve Carstairs, January 1st (OMOWOY 2024)

Dear Diary,

It’s been ages since I actually kept a diary, and now I’m keeping one in my phone because it’s just easier. I know Dad’ll be furious when he gets back, but I’m sick of being given to people like a chore. First it was Grandma and Grandpa, then back to Dad, then Dad’s friend Carrie and her family, then back to Dad, and then Uncle Alfred even though he’s already struggling after Auntie Miriam died. Dad keeps saying it’s for my own good, that he wants me to be taken care of, but I don’t see him taking care of me. Just other people being forced to do it for him after I land on their doorstep. I’d rather look after myself, and how hard can it be? It’s not like it’d be any different for him when he isn’t even in the country.

Love, Eve

Meet Eve Carstairs, our runaway teen! She’s recently arrived in Mt Komorebi, and she’s starting in true One Month One World One Year style with no money whatsoever. So, let’s go digging!

After finding a capsule and selling it without opening it, I spotted Judith Ward wandering around – very lucky, and time to beg for an autograph so we can immediately flog it.

With those sold, it was time to head to the Simmi Capsule machine! The risky money maker paid off this time, with no squashing, and I ended up getting some very good pulls – yay! I feel like it always tricks me at the beginning though, probably so it can squash my poor teens later on.

As such, Eve now has her first sleeping arrangements and some plants to grow outside. I just love using plants to make money, it makes me happy!

As it had started to rain, I sent her to the lounge, where she found out she didn’t like singing…

But that she could settle down and get her homework done here, thankfully, with some kind words from Agatha Crumplebottom. I like to think she was being nice and encouraging to someone being studious like Eve is.

Then it was time for a bowl of olives….(Low hunger, and not much to do otherwise!)

And then it was time to plant vegetables and flowers outside the tent. These will be very good moneymakers in the future, though they’re not exactly dragon fruits.

Then, of course, I was proven right as Eve fell victim to Jenny’s Curse trying to push her luck. Ouch!

Given she was now battered and bruised, I decided to send the poor girl to bed. Couldn’t even go one day without the curse hitting me, I guess. Sigh.

With that, we’ve wrapped up the first day! Hopefully tomorrow has less of her being squashed by vending machines….

Money: 278 Simoleons

Author’s Note: So, first, I’ve never managed to actually finish one of these challenges when trying to post to the forums and it’s been a whole thing. I eventually realised the obvious – scheduled posts would actually be my friend, so hello from December 2023! Hopefully I get a bunch of these sorted and I can manage a year after several failed attempts.

4 thoughts on “Eve Carstairs, January 1st (OMOWOY 2024)

Leave a comment